The Angry Corrie 66: Nov-Dec 2005

The staff of life (Access Officers)

image from source document

AS PROMISED in TAC65, here and overleaf is a list of Scottish local council staff (and staff from other agencies) with responsibility for access. Following the recent introduction of the Land Reform (Scotland) Act, local authorities now have the power to act - indeed are required to act - on illegal and inappropriate signs, path-blockages and the like. So if you encounter a Scottish access situation about which you're concerned, just work out which council area the obstruction or whatever is in and then contact the relevant officer. The old problem - where councils tended to be sympathetic while claiming there was nothing they could do - ought now to be a thing of the past, at least in the vast majority of cases.

Note that the list is likely, to some extent, to be out of date the instant it's published, due to staffing changes within the various agencies. But even where the person named has moved on, their replacement ought to be able to take up the issue.

There can hardly have been any clearer indication of the strength of these powers than the news, as TAC66 goes to press, that the notorious Alltchaorunn gate blocking a bridge across the Etive (NN197513 on Landranger 41) has finally had its fortifications removed. This was the scene of an access battle going back years (eg see TAC58 p3), but in late September John Hutcheson, access officer for Lochaber, heard that the estate factor had removed the padlock and barbed wire. (Seemingly the padlock still hangs on the gate, but doesn't now lock it.) The estate finally gave in on realising that Highland Council was serious about serving a Section 14(2) order on them, under which a landowner can be told to remove a sign or access barrier within three weeks or else the local authority will do it and then bill them for the work. Faced with being the first estate to be served with a 14(2), the Alltchaorunn people backed down. This is, surely, an example of that rare and mysterious thing called progress.

Many thanks to Mike Dales at the Mountaineering Council of Scotland for the information. If a reader encounters problems contacting any of the access officers, or picks up on any name or number changes, or has concerns about the service offered, please let the MCofS or TAC know.

Local authorities

Area Name Job title Phone Email
Shetland No post. Contact: Victor Hawthorne Planning Officer 01595 744835
Orkney Derek Manson Assistant Access Officer 01856 873535 x2532
Western Isles Rhodri Evans Countryside Access Manager 01870 602425
  Susan Rabe C'side Access Project Officer 01851 703226
Highland Alex Sutherland Access Officer 01463 702257
  John Hutcheson Access Officer (Lochaber) 01397 707050
  Donald Kennedy Access Officer (Skye and Lochalsh) 01471 820392
  Stewart Eastaugh Access Officer (Inverness and Nairn) 01463 702186
  Phil Waite Access Officer (Ross and Cromarty) 01349 868431
  David Barclay Access Officer (Caithness) 01955 605858
  Matthew Dent Access Officer (Sutherland) 01549 402729
Aberdeen Rachel Sharp Access Officer 01224 523316
Aberdeenshire Colin Miller Countryside Access Officer 01467 628481
  Andrew Coleman Project Manager, Upper Deeside Access Trust 01339 887777
Moray Ian Douglas Access Manager 01343 557049
Clackmannanshire John Duffy Access Officer 01259 452523
Perth and Kinross Dave Stubbs Access Officer 01738 475347
  Jane Pritchard Access Officer 01738 475332
  Frances Berry Access Officer 01738 475324
  Martin Currie Manager, PK C'side Trust 01738 475394
Angus Paul Clark Countryside Access Officer 01307 473589
  Alan Gordon E C'gorms Access Proj.Officer 01307 473415
Dundee Laura Campbell Access Officer 01382 433748
Argyll and Bute Jenny Carter Access Project Manager 01546 604314
  Sue Williams Access Officer 01546 604228
Stirling Richard Barron Senior Access Officer 01786 442937
  Penny Stoddart Access Officer 01786 443482
  Alison Perry Community Access Officer 01786 442932
Glasgow Jolyon Gritten Access Officer 0141 287 8585
East Renfrewshire Jim Williamson Access Officer 0141 577 3882
Renfrewshire Kate Cuthbert Access Officer 0141 842 5258
Inverclyde Janice Boyd Access Officer 01475 712417
West Dunbartonshire Helen Lundie Access Officer 01389 737376 see
East Dunbartonshire Mark Brand Access Officer 0141 578 8520
North Lanarkshire Stephen McHenry Access Officer 01236 737545
  Mykela Heath Access Officer 01236 737545
South Lanarkshire Simon Pilpel Access Officer 01698 455938
  Philip Glennie Access Officer 01698 455125
North Ayrshire Louise Kirk Access Officer 01294 225198
East Ayrshire Anneke Freel Manager, Coalfield Acc. Proj. 01563 554748
South Ayrshire David Gray Access Officer 01292 616649
Dumfries & Galloway Simon Fieldhouse Countryside Team Leader 01387 260245
  Stewart Cameron Access Officer East 01387 260145
  Alison Keith Access Officer West 01387 260341
Scottish Borders Neil Mackay Access Officer 01835 826509
East Lothian Nick Morgan Outdoor Access Officer 01620 827671
  Jennifer Lothian Outdoor Access Officer 01620 827419
Midlothian Gary Cormack Access and Woodlands Officer 0131 561 5303
West Lothian David Oldham Access Officer 01506 775249
Falkirk Martin Nunn C'side Access Strategy Officer 01324 504928
  Mandy Brown Countryside Access Officer 01324 504721
Edinburgh Alan McGregor Access Officer 0131 469 3602
Fife Alison Irvine Access Officer 01592 748334
  Phil Clarke Operations Officer, Access 01592 414316

Scottish Natural Heritage contacts

Area Name Job title Phone Email
Northern Isles Simon Smith Area Officer, Lerwick 01595 693345
  Ruth Priestley (temp) Area Officer, Kirkwall 01856 875302
Western Isles Johanne Ferguson Area Officer, Stornoway 01851 705258
Highland Terry Keatinge Operational Manager, Golspie 01408 633602
  Cattie Anderson Area Officer, Aviemore 01479 810477
  Stewart Sandison Area Officer, Fort William 01397 704716
Grampian Kelley Birnie Area Officer, Aberdeen 01224 642863
Tayside/Clacks Mike Shepherd Area Officer, Battleby 01738 444177
Argyll/Stirlingshire Gavin Smith Area Officer, Kilmory 01546 603611
  Stuart Davies Area Officer, Stirling 01786 450362
Strathclyde/Ayrshire Geoff Atkins Area AO, Clydebank 0141 951 4488
  John Collie Area Access Officer, Ayr 01292 261392
Dumfries/Galloway Mike Scott Area Access Officer, Dumfries 01387 247010
Forth/Borders John O'Keefe Area Access Officer, Dalkeith 0131 654 2466

National park contacts

Cairngorms Cattie Anderson Area Officer, Aviemore 01479 810477
Loch Lomond/Trossachs Stuart Davies Area Officer, Stirling 01786 450362

National park access staff

Cairngorms Bob Grant Access Manager 01479 873535
  Fran Pothecary Access Officer 01479 870533
  Sandra Middleton Access Officer 01339 753607
Loch Lomond/Trossachs Bridget Jones Senior Access Officer 01389 722618
  Douglas Stewart Area Access Officer (Breadalbane/Argyll) 01389 722624
  Jimmy Connolly Area Access Officer (Trossachs/Lomond) 01389 722640

National organisations with an interest in access

Scottish Rural Property and Business Association Janice Gray Access Officer 0131 653 5400
Scottish Canoe Association John Picken National Access Adviser 0131 317 7314
Waterways Trust Amanda Durlik Comm. Access Coordinator 0141 354 7540
National Farmers' Union Scotland Sue Hilder Access Officer 0131 472 4107
Scottish Orienteering Association Donald Petrie Access Officer 01506 613094
Ramblers Scotland Helen Todd Access Campaign Officer 01577 861 222
MCofS Mike Dales Access+Conservation Officer 01738 638229

TAC 66 Index